top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureRyan Niemeyer

Meetings with KFACC and Colville Tribe

I had a couple major forest owner/manager meetings this month, and scheduled my final initial workshop for May. I went to the Kittitas Fire Adapted Communities Coalition (KFACC) meeting earlier this month in Cle Elum. At this meeting I presented on some streamflow-wildfire research I have done, and met some of the forest owners and managers. I also learned about a lot of the great work going on in Kittitas County and the surrounding areas to actively manage forests for forest health and to reduce wildfire threats.


Second, I went to Nespelem to meet with Cody Desautel, the tribes Natural Resources Director. We had a great conversation and it looks like I will work with them as well. Potentially will simulate forest thinning in Omak Creek, but we will see what works best with my timeline and what benefits Cody's forest management planning.

It was sunny in Cle Elum!

Thinned forest stand. Note the ponderosa pine saplings growing in the interspace.

Area burned previously (probably one of the 2014 or 2015 fires)


28 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Cabela's Gift Cards for Survey Participation

For the forest-water survey, I did a random drawing for a $50 Cabela's gift card for participants in the survey who opted to be included in the drawing. The random drawing winners were a conservation

bottom of page